Click on the names to hear how they are pronounced
The Forbidden CityLocated in the center of Beijing the Palace Museum (also called the Forbidden City) was the imperial palace of the Ming and Qing dynasties. Construction of the Palace started in 1406 (the 4th year of the Ming Yong Le reign) and ended in 1420 (the 18th year of the Yong Le reign). In the course of history in underwent many renovations and is now the largest and best preserved ancient architectural complex in China. Covering an area of 720,000 square meters of land, and is 760 meters from east to west. The palace boasts of 9999.5 rooms. Its layout followed strict feudal code, with the palace ground divided into two main sections-the Front Palace stand the Hall of Supreme Harmony, the Hall of Complete Harmony and the Hall of Preserving Harmony. The Inner Palace includes the Palace of Heavenly Purity, the Hall of Prosperity, the Hall of Earthly Peace and the Imperial Garden. The revolution in 1911 ended the rule of the Qing Dynasty and the imperial household was moved out in 1924. In 1925, the Palace Museum was set up.
Picture #1:An outsideview of the Palace Museum