

Now that you know what a database is, you might be wondering how exactly these things work. Databases are divided into three main parts:
1. Data:
The data is the information that is placed in a database. Here is a database that we are all familiar with- an address book. Pretend that you have an address book that is set up to resemble a table:
|
Name
|
Address
|
Phone Number
|
E-mail
|
|
John Cook
|
255 Main St.
|
543-7885
|
jcook@aol.com
|
|
Matthew Smith
|
43 First Ave.
|
423-4567
|
matt@yahoo.com
|
|
Emily Coffey
|
2 Meadow Ln.
|
978-2346
|
emilyc@hotmail.com
|
|
Mary France
|
43 Strawberry
Rd.
|
231-5926
|
mfrance@aol.com
|
All of the names, addresses, phone numbers, and e-mail addresses are called data.
2. Field:
Sometimes, you can control the type of data that can be placed in a certain field. For example, say you want to limit the "Name" field in the above address book to only letters. There are "attribute" tags you can add to each field that restrict the kind of data that is to be placed in the field. For example, there are "attribute" tags that might say that you can only place letters in a field and other "attribute" tags that might say you can only place numbers in the field.
There is also another type of attribute tag that can limit the number of characters that you can place in a field. For example, a certain attribute tag might say that you can only type in a maximum of 10 letters in a certain field.
Finally, there is a type of attribute tag that is called "required, optional, or calculated." These attribute tags control the amount of data to be placed in a certain field. If a field is given the "required" attribute tag, that means that the field is mandatory- meaning that you must put data in the field. You cannot leave it empty. On the other hand, a field with an "optional" attribute tag does not have to be filled in. Finally, the "calculated" attribute tag means that the user is not supposed to fill it in. The computer will later fill in this field after it has performed the necessary calculations.
3. Records
However, keep in mind that the first row is NOT called a record because it contains the field names. Thus, records begin with the second row.
Database Files:
As you might know, computer files are collections of data. For example, the word document I typed this article on would be a text file. The picture of my cat that I scanned onto my computer would be saved as a graphic file, while the MP3 that I downloaded off the Internet would be stored in an MP3 file. There are also special types of files that are used to store the data in databases. These are called database files.
Database files are composed of all of the fields, records, and data that
are found in a typical database. The more files that are found in a single
database, the larger the database will be!
Now that you know what the parts of a database are, head over to the next
section: Types of Databases



