[Kaiki] Prince Yamashiro-no-Oe
[Location] Mitsui, Ikaruga-machi, Ikoma-gun, Nara-ken
[Dedicated To] Yakushi Nyorai
About Horin-ji temple
Horin-ji temple is a charming, small Buddhist temple from the 7th century. It was founded by Prince Shotoku's son, Prince Yamashiro-no-Oe in 622, as a place to pray for Prince Shotoku's recovery. The temple was no more than a small prayer hall at first, but was later enlarged into a full-scale temple. According to old records, when Horyu-ji temple burned down in 670, the priests built three monasteries before deciding where the Horyu-ji would be built. This temple was one of the three. In 1645, a violent storm destroyed all the buildings except for the pagoda, and the pagoda was struck by lightening in 1940 and also burned down. There are no buildings remaining from when the temple was first built.
There are the Shoro (Bell Tower), Kon-do (Golden Hall), Kodo (Lecture Hall/Treasure Hall), and its old temples in Horin-ji temple. This temple was built on the basis of Horyu-ji temple, so it provides the miniature reproduction of Horyu-ji temple. In the Kodo, which mostly serves as the temple treasure hall, are temple sculptures safely preserved. Sculptures such as the Yakushi Nyorai and a Sho Kannon, were originally kept in the Kon-do.