Posted by Heavy D on October 29, 1999 at 23:28:47:
In Reply to: Question of The Serve posted by Vince on October 29, 1999 at 10:06:50:
As long as the ball hits the server's side once, then the receiver's side once after that, the serve is good as long as all other guidelines for serving (i.e. tossing the ball 6 inches on an open palm, hitting the ball above and behind table edge, etc) are met. If someone can cause the ball to go over the side of someone's table even if they start the serve from behind their side of the table, then it's legal and the receiver will just have to be able to react. If you can react in time, it really isn't that much more difficult to hit than a really good serve that goes over the end of the table.
Good luck on your tournament!
: There is an upcoming "tournament" at work. Nothing really official except for bragging rights. Question: On the serve, is there a rule that says the ball must be projected over the end (ie not the sides) of the recievers side of the table on the serve? And if there is a rule, what happens when someone serves this way?
: I have been searching for this in the rules listed online, but unable to find out. Thanks for any help.
Post a Followup