Maramures the wooden churches
The Ieud Deal Church
For a long time it was thought that the present church is that more than 600 year-old edifice, which made it the most famous church in region. It is now known that marauding Tatars set the initial church on fire in the 17th century, and it was totally destroyed. Two 16th century books found in the present church are a proof of the existence of an older church in this place.
The church of the Birth of the Holy Virgin
The holy place of Bârsana‘s Monastery brings Iza‘s Valley closer to God. Passing under a beautiful gate, the alley that leads to the monastery curls up and the entrance is under haughty tower- the steeple, across which, on the right side, the church rises towards the sky- not long ago it was the tallest wooden church in the world. From the church it starts a stony alley surrounded by flowers. It leads to the Abbacy, construction of a charming architectonic fantasy, a remarkable work of the maramuresean style of the wooden churches.
The church of the Presentation of the Virgin Mary
Among the valuable church monuments, that draw admiration of the country’s callers and even across country’s callers, a good place is filled by the saint Ana’s monastery- Rohia, from the country of Lapus, Maramures County. Placed in a picturesque location, on a hill, in the middle of a beech and oak forest, Rohia’s monastery is the preferential spot of the quiet seeker.
Rohia Monastery seen in the winter
In the town of Peri, within walking distance of village Sapanta, there was an important monastery founded by the dynasty of the Dragosestilor. But before that Sas Voda and his sons, Drag and Balcu, to found the first monastery of Peri Maramures, was founded here a small hermitage which was in the care of Dragos Voda’s blazers with the patron “Sfantul Arhanghel Mihail” as protector of the family. Voivodes Balcu and Drag, Dragos’s grandchildren, have given the monastery property and land and a church built of stone. In August 13 1391, at their request, the monastery is raised to the rank of “Stavropighie Patriarhala” and it will have jurisdiction over the churches of eight lands.
The Church of St. Nicoara
On the valley of the black stream, near Moisei, a monastery with the patron “Sfanta Nascatoare de Dumnezeu Maria” was founded in 1672 in the presence of the Transylvanian Metropolitan Sava Brancovici. The painting was made in 1699 and today is mostly destroyed. It preserves valuable icons near the altar. In 1911 a church was built and a new house with 7 rooms for monks. Patron of this church is “Adormirea prea curatei Vergura Maria” celebrated on August 15 of each year.