Saint Gheorghe’s Church
Saint Gheorghe’s Church, is the church of Saint John the New, was built in 1514 by Bogdan the Blind (Bogdan III), the son of Ştefan cel Mare.
The build’s finish is supposed to have been around 1522 and is assigned to Ştefăniţă Vodă, the son of Bogdan the Blind. It’s an extraordinary building, slender with enameled tile roof. The interior and exterior wall paintings were made during the reign of Petru Rareş. Since 1991, here is the residence of Suceava and Rădăuţi’s Archiepiscopate.
Saint Gheorghe’s Church from Suceava has the portrait of Bogdan III.
With simple methods, the painter gave special life to Bogdan’s portrait, an interior life that reflects in the waivode’s look, on his lips, his nose and chin and his strong neck, greatly outlined and modeled through strong shadows.
The artist realized a mosaic portret, fact that results from the way he painted the waivode’s mantle, enclosed at the collar and sleeves, with a row of pearls, having the borders decorated with gems, by big oval shapes. Everything is outlined, rhythmical and harmonized in an extraordinary monumental style.